Daily Dinner Dilemma | Costco Meal Plan

DDDCostcoCPFMPlans2

I know I am not alone when I say I absolutely loathe that late afternoon question of  “What’s for dinner?”

I am also wanting to feed my family healthier foods and less drive through but struggle with busy evenings and a complete lack of inspiration for dinner ideas. I need healthy and easy dinner options.

For me healthy means:

  • little to no processed foods
  • lots of veggies
  • more whole grains and less white starches
  • no drive thru!

For me easier means:

  • I can have a healthy, delicious meal on the table for my family every night
  • minimal nightly prep, aka less dirty dishes
  • less trips to the store for last minute ingredients
  • I don’t have to think about what’s for dinner

So lately, I’ve been searching around on the internet and discovered a litany of crockpot freezer meals (I guess I am a little late to the party). I got sucked into the abyss that is Pinterest and an hour later came up with six meals I could make and freeze. I created a shopping list, braved Costco (on a Saturday, 2 weeks before Christmas), spent about 2 hours in the kitchen prepping and by the end of the afternoon I had 12 (I doubled each recipe) freezer meals chilling in my freezer. But here is the best part…I have TWELVE meals. Ready to go. In my freezer.

SweetMustardPorkChops

With the craziness of the getting ready for the holidays over those following two weeks (and overindulgences) it was absolute heaven to be able to put a soup or meal in my crockpot in the morning as I went to work or ran errands and have a wonderfully healthy and delicious dinner waiting for us at the end of the day.

I spent less than $135 at Costco (including the gallon freezer bags) for these twelve meals (most of the pantry items I already had on hand) and that breaks down to almost $11.00 per meal…for a family of five that is not too shabby. Not to mention I have enough onions and tortillas now to last me a good awhile. The recipes I  found I used as inspiration and I ended up adapting them to suit my families preferences (and ingredients I already had on hand), as well I created a few recipes myself with the ingredients I had left to use. They absolutely loved every meal. So they are kid and husband tested and approved.

I know I am not the first person to do this but it has felt like an absolute revelation for me and I want to share my love of this newly found freedom from the daily delimma of “What’s for dinner?” So click here for the grocery list and recipes for six meals that you can easily double when you shop at Costco and buy in bulk. Obviously the prices may vary depending on your region/store and the total may vary also depending on your pantry items on hand.

SweetSesameChickenIngredients

If you’ve never tried freezer meals before….I beg you, please.

I am now compiling several more recipes to try this again. I am thinking 15 this time, doubling that and having an entire month of stress free, no thinking, delicious and healthy dinners. I can’t wait.

One thought on “Daily Dinner Dilemma | Costco Meal Plan

  1. nicolemichellehill says:

    I seriously love freezer meals. I do not currently work full time days….but when I did I started making them once a week and it saved me so much time! My husband would help me and we would just prep a ton of yummy ingredients. We have a little one on the way so I will be prepping freezer meals in advance to help once baby humble arrives 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment